Band Members

Retired Inspector Dave Woollam, was appointed as Musical Director back in June 2007.

In many respects it has been a return to his roots. Dave played Tenor Horn with the band as a teenager back in 1975. His father John(who was also a Cheshire Police Officer) introduced him to the band and he never looked back.

15 very happy years followed during which he met his future wife Rachel (who incidentally plays principal Cornet with the band).

He then spent 14 happy and rewarding years at the Robert's Bakery band predominantly on Solo Euphonium followed by two very challenging years as Solo Euphonium with Warrington based Wire Brass.

His first experience with the baton was in 2000 as MD of the South Cheshire Based Lions Youth Brass.

In 2010 Dave "retired" as a Police Officer after 32 years service but was pleased to remain as Musical director of the Band. Always a committed musician he is proud to be the Musical Director of the Band.

In the 10 years since taking up the baton the band have been promoted to
First section ( from Jan 2018)and in doing so qualified for three National Championship finals. They have also made highly successful concert appearances in Germany during 2010,2012 & 13, Austria in 2016 and Germany again in 2017.

In recent times the band, and its Corps of drums have considerably raised their profile and Dave is extremely proud of his continued association with Cheshire Constabulary. He is looking forward to many more years working with the band.

Musical Director

Dave Woollam

Tel 0785 789 5674


Musical Director David Woollam
SopranoCornet Sarah Sanders
Principal Cornet Rachel Woollam
Solo Cornet Natasha Brett
Solo Cornet Abbie Edwards
Solo Cornet Steve Gardener
Associate David Mottershead

Repiano Cornet

Jess Lyons

2nd Cornet Michelle Beeston
2nd Cornet


3rd Cornet Derek Gardener
3rd Cornet Vacant
Flugal Horn Sarah Barnett
Solo Horn Annabel Stapleton
1st Horn Laura Beeston
2nd Horn David Firth
Solo Euphonium Vacant
2nd Euphonium David Wood
Solo Baritone Caroline Smith
2nd Bartone Peter Moxon
Solo Trombone Diane Walker
2nd Trombone Ewan Kerry
Bass Trombone Kevan Lomas
Eb Bass Helen Paul
Eb Bass Tim Ashbrook
Bb Bass Jim Winstanley
Bb Bass Paul Beardsworth
Percussion Rob Richardson
Percussion Ella Brett
Corps Of Drums  
Drum Major Ivor Higham
Drum Sgt

Steve Preston

Drummer. Charlie White
Drummer Andy Heath
Drummer John Sanders
Drummer Sam Stanley

Rob Richardson

Drummer Stuart Vickers
Bass Drum/Cymballs Vacant